Faculty

Noriko Asato

Noriko Asato

Associate Professor (LIS)

Specialty: Japanese/ Japanese American Print Cultures; Asian Librarianship; Censorship
Office: HL 3E
Phone: 808-956-5821
E-mail: asaton@hawaii.edu

Brent Auernheimer

Brent Auernheimer

Instructor (ICS)

Specialty: Software Engineering
E-mail: auernhei@hawaii.edu

Kyungim Baek

Kyungim Baek

Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Computer Vision, Bioinformatics
Office: POST 314F
Phone: 808-956-8560
E-mail: kyungim@hawaii.edu

Donna Bair-Mundy

Donna Bair-Mundy

Instructor (LIS)

Office: HL 3B
Phone: 808-956-9518
E-mail: donnab@hawaii.edu

Edo Biagioni

Edo Biagioni

Associate Professor (ICS)

Graduate Program Chair
Specialty: Networking
Office: 305F
Phone: 808-956-3891
E-mail: esb@hawaii.edu

Kim Binsted

Kim Binsted

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Artificial Intelligence
Office: POST 303D
Phone: 808-956-6107
E-mail: binsted@hawaii.edu

Henri Casanova

Henri Casanova

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: High-Performance Computing
Office: 310C
Phone: 808-956-2649
E-mail: henric@hawaii.edu

David Chin

David Chin

Professor (ICS)

Department Chair
Specialty: Artificial Intelligence; User Modeling
Office: POST 317A
Phone: 808-956-3500
E-mail: chin@hawaii.edu

Martha Crosby

Martha Crosby

Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Human-Computer Interaction, Computer Science Education
Office: POST 305D
Phone: 808-956-3493
E-mail: crosby@hawaii.edu

Barbara Endicott-Popovsky

Barbara Endicott-Popovsky

Instructor (ICS)

Specialty: Security
E-mail: endicott@uw.edu

Michael Farrell

Michael Farrell

Adjunct Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Security
Office: POST 307B
Email: farrell9@hawaii.edu

Rich Gazan

Rich Gazan

Associate Professor (ICS/LIS)

Communication & Information Sciences PhD Program Chair
Specialty: Social aspects of information technology
Office: HL 2H
Phone: 808-956-6703
E-mail: gazan@hawaii.edu

Violet Harada

Violet Harada

Professor (LIS) - Emeritus

Specialty: School Library Management
Office: HL 2F
Phone: 808-956-5814
E-mail: vharada@hawaii.edu

Stephen Itoga

Stephen Itoga

Professor (ICS) – Emeritus

Specialty: Computer Graphics
Office: POST 305F
Phone: 808-956-9564
E-mail: itoga@hawaii.edu

Peter Jacso

Peter Jacso

Professor (LIS)

Specialty: Digital Libraries
Office: HL 2I
Phone: 808-956-5817
E-mail: jacso@hawaii.edu

Philip Johnson

Philip Johnson

Professor (ICS)

Associate Department Chair
Specialty: Software Engineering, Renewable Energy
Office: POST 307A
Phone: 808-956-3489
E-mail: johnson@hawaii.edu

Rebecca Knuth

Rebecca Knuth

Professor (LIS)

Specialty: International Librarianship, Intellectual freedom, History of Books and Libraries
Office: HL 3D
Phone: 808-956-5810
E-mail: knuth@hawaii.edu

Gerald Lau

Gerald Lau

Assistant Faculty Specialist (ICS/LIS)

Office: POST 303A
Phone: 808-956-5428
E-mail: glau@hawaii.edu

Jason Leigh

Jason Leigh

Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Visualization
Office: POST 309C
Phone: 808-956-2761
E-mail: leighj@hawaii.edu

Depeng Li

Depeng Li

Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Security, networks
Office: POST 314D
Phone: 808-956-3973
E-mail: depengli@hawaii.edu

Lipyeow Lim

Lipyeow Lim

Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: databases
Office: POST 303E
Phone: 808-956-3495
E-mail: lipyeow@hawaii.edu

Carleton Moore

Carleton Moore

Instructor (ICS)

Specialty: Software Engineering
Office: POST 307B
Phone: 808-956-6930
E-mail: cmoore@hawaii.edu

Rae-Anne Montague

Rae-Anne Montague

Assistant Professor (LIS)

Specialty: School Library Media
Office: Hamilton 2F
Phone: 808-956-5807
E-mail: rae7@hawaii.edu

Ravi Narayan

Ravi Narayan

Instructor (ICS)

Office: POST 314A
E-mail: rnarayan@hawaii.edu

Michael-Brian Ogawa

Michael-Brian Ogawa

Assistant Faculty Specialist (ICS)

Office: POST 312B
Phone: 808-956-5069
E-mail: ogawam@hawaii.edu

David Pager

David Pager

Professor (ICS) – Emeritus

Specialty: Compilers
Office: POST 303G
Phone: 808-956-9564
E-mail: pager@hawaii.edu

Dusko Pavlovic

Dusko Pavlovic

Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Security
Office: POST 311B
Phone: 808-956-9639
E-mail: dusko@hawaii.edu

Guylaine Poisson

Guylaine Poisson

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Bioinformatics
Office: POST 310B
Phone: 808-956-3496
E-mail: guylaine@hawaii.edu

Luz Quiroga

Luz Quiroga

Associate Professor (ICS/LIS)

Specialty: Personalization / User modeling, Digital content management; User centered systems design
Office: HL 2J
Phone: 808-956-5838
E-mail: lquiroga@hawaii.edu

Nancy Reed

Nancy Reed

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Artificial Intelligence
Office: POST 314B
Phone: 956-8498
E-mail: nreed@hawaii.edu

Scott Robertson

Scott Robertson

Associate Professor (ICS)

Undergraduate Chair
Specialty: Human-Computer Interaction, Digital Government
Office: POST 306C
Phone: 808-956-2023
E-mail: scott.robertson@hawaii.edu

Peter-Michael Seidel

Peter-Michael Seidel

Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Formal Methods, Computer Arithmetic, Digital Hardware Design, Algorithms
Office: POST 314C
Phone: 808-956-6068
E-mail: pseidel@hawaii.edu

Nodari Sitchinava

Nodari Sitchinava

Assistant Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Algorithms
Office: POST 306B
Phone: 808-956-3581
E-mail: nodari@hawaii.edu

Jan Stelovsky

Jan Stelovsky

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Human-Computer Interaction, Multimedia
Office: POST 305C
Phone: 808-956-7175
E-mail: janst@hawaii.edu

Susanne Still

Susanne Still

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Information Theory, Machine Learning, Computational Neuroscience
Office: POST 303F
Phone: 808 956 5816
E-mail: sstill@hawaii.edu

Dennis Streveler

Dennis Streveler

Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Medical Informatics, Biomedical Informatics, Global Health Informatics, International Health Policy
Office: POST 303C
Phone: 808-956-3487
E-mail: strev@hawaii.edu

Kazuo Sugihara

Kazuo Sugihara

Associate Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Robotics
Office: POST 314H
Phone: 808-956-6049
E-mail: sugihara@hawaii.edu

Daniel Suthers

Daniel Suthers

Professor (ICS)

Specialty: Technology Enhanced Learning, Human-Computer Interaction, Social Informatics
Office: POST 309B
Phone: 808-956-3890
E-mail: suthers@hawaii.edu

Andrew Wertheimer

Andrew Wertheimer

Associate Professor (LIS)

LIS Program Chair
Specialty: History of Libraries & Archives, Collection Management
Office: HL 2G
Phone: 808-956-5812
E-mail: wertheim@hawaii.edu

Staff

Janice Oda-Ng

Janice Oda-Ng

Department Secretary

Office: POST 317
Phone: 808-956-7420
E-mail: odang@hawaii.edu

Nolan Oshiro

Nolan Oshiro

IT Specialist

Office: POST 314
Phone: 808-956-7639
E-mail: noshiro@hawaii.edu

Wesley Sugimoto

Wesley Sugimoto

Administrative and Fiscal Support Specialist

Office: POST 303B
Phone: 808-956-8249
E-mail: wesleysu@hawaii.edu

Janell Shimabukuro

Janell Shimabukuro

IT Specialist

Office: POST 327
Phone: 808-956-4989
E-mail: janells@hawaii.edu

Students

Ph.D. Students

    • Todd Baumeister
    • Shucun Dong
    • Stephan Fabel
    • Christophe Gauge
    • Michael Gowanlock
    • Jeffrey Grizzle
    • Curtis Kanahele
    • Benjamin Karsin
    • Brent Kroon
    • Mark Menor
    • Victor Miagkikh
    • Lisa Miller
    • Tianli Mo
    • Robert Puckett
    • Pavel Senin
    • Yongwen Xu
    • Matt Wolff
    • William Wright

Ph.D. Alumni

    • Christoph Aschwanden
    • Mahdi Belcaid
    • Robert Brewer
    • Pei-Chia Chang
    • Matthew Chapman
    • Xin Chen
    • Nathan Dwyer
    • Robert Fanelli
    • Hongbing Kou
    • Holger Mauch
    • Richard Medina
    • David Nickles
    • David Pautler
    • Mark Stillwell
    • Joshua Wingstrom
    • Jo-Han Wu
    • Qin Zhang
    • Xin Zhao